Stepping out of your comfort zone

I have always lived my life on the safe side of things. Never taking risks, always planning ahead, always thinking ahead, always considering how my actions or words would impact someone else… things like that. I never stepped out of my comfort zone. Never did anything impulsive, and never ever asked for help. I wanted to do everything on my own. Always.

As I grew in my relationship with the Lord, that part of me never really changed. I’ve felt Him try and nudge me out of my comfort zone, but I never listened. I am a quiet, shy, reserved person who likes to fly under the radar, and do everything myself. (did I already mention that?)

A few months ago, our vehicle started acting up. The engine light came on, the oil pressure was all out of wack; but after new spark plugs, wires, injectors, and tune up… the problem still wasn’t fixed. In the end, and several months of investigation… what was needed was a new engine. It was a hard pill to swallow, we barely have the money to pay for all the small repairs and investigative testing; let alone a whole new engine! We thought about selling it… but we need 2 vehicles as I work a 1/2 hr away; we thought about trading it in… but with the engine problem, we wouldn’t get near what we would need to have affordable monthly payments on a new one. The only thing to do is get a new engine in it and continue to drive it. The body is in amazing shape anyway. It’s always been undercoated for winter, it only has 110,000 km on it (for being 9 years old); and this option was cheaper than paying for a new vehicle.

Now comes the part of “stepping out of my comfort zone”.

I knew we needed help with this. We do not have the money for a new engine. Period. The total cost is going to be around $8000 for everything, and I knew we needed help. I believe in the generosity of others, and I believe there are good people out there willing to help. I started a “Go Fund Me” page to help with the repairs – I didn’t even know how to start one, or what to expect – but I just jumped right in with both feet and decided, I can’t do THIS one all on my own. There was just no way.

So I am leaving this here. A link to my “Go Fund Me” page, hoping that generous people will see it, and be moved to donate. It’s been up for over a month now, and I have $125 so far toward our goal of $8000. If everyone who sees this were to donate just $5 or $10, and share it with as many people as you can, and each of those people donated $5 or $10…. the goal would be reached in no time! The more people who give… the less each one has to give! It sounds so simple when you think of it that way.

LINK BELOW

https://www.gofundme.com/f/euhx68-unexpected-car-repairs

Thank you so much for helping out in this situation. It really means a lot that people can come together to help each other out when we need it. What goes around, comes around… and when we are good to other people, other people are good to us. Karma.

Blessings to everyone.