3 Days of Prayer and Fasting

Beginning tomorrow morning – Monday, June 21st, 2019 – I will be doing a 3 day prayer and fasting with a large online community from around the world. This will be the first time I will be doing something like this, so if anyone feels they should lift me up in prayer during this time, it would be greatly appreciated.

I have never done this before, so I am not sure what I am going to pray about – it seems there isn’t a central theme that everyone will be praying about at the same time – so I am just going to let the Holy Spirit lead me on what I should pray, or who I should pray for. I will be keeping a journal of this, and blogging about it here, to keep me accountable and to record my experience.

If anyone wants to pray for me, I would ask for prayer for…

  • strength to see it through the whole 3 days
  • not to be distracted by my hunger
  • not to be irritable or negative (as usually happens if I don’t eat)
  • that the Holy Spirit would lead me on exactly what and when to pray
  • that I would be able to find a quiet place at work to pray, without distractions or interference
  • that I would follow and obey the Lord in whatever He asks of me through this experience

If anyone would like to participate in this time of prayer and fasting as well, you can join at the following YouTube channel…

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCTnXL2SKHAo0fHVW1WSaqfw/community

Thank you for following me on this journey and praying for me.

Have a blessed and spirit filled week.

Day 1 – a day to pray VICTORY

Today Lord, I pray for victory over the lives of all your children, in every circumstance, may You confirm VICTORY for them. Through the shed blood of Jesus, we are free from the stronghold of sin, from sickness and disease. I pray and claim VICTORY over the schemes and plots of the evil one that try and keep us from getting closer to You – they will not succeed. You are mightier and stronger. Your mercy endures forever. I pray for VICTORY over the difficult times we are going through right now; VICTORY over our finances; VICTORY over our broken and difficult relationships; VICTORY over our sin that keeps us trapped and far from you. May all Your children experience VICTORY today in their lives.

In Jesus name, Amen

Day 2 – a day to pray for the resurrection of dead dreams!

I feel like a bit of a failure, because I didn’t get much praying in at all yesterday. I was able to pray a bit in the morning and on the way to work, but even though I tried to listen to some audio bible and evangelism on YouTube while working, I just wasn’t very motivated to pray. I was focused on my hunger (and I honestly think it’s more of a habit than actually being hungry, as well as boredom), but I was so distracted and had a SPLITTING headache, that I didn’t pray hardly at all. I ate when I got home (as it was agreed to fast between 6am and 4pm only) – but I didn’t even get much praying done at home either. All in all, not a very moving day.
Today – day 2 – much of the same thing. I did have a REALLY good prayer on the way to work this morning in the car, that was nice… but still distracted today and feeling the hunger! Was not motivated to pray at all. This experience so far has not been what I thought it would be, but I know God is faithful, and I know He will answer his believers in His time. I pray that the others on this fasting and praying journey are doing better than I am.

Day 3 – today is just praying, wanting to get closer to God

So… I’m not sure how I feel about these 3 days. I made it through the first and second day – but barely. I really have felt disconnected and distant and distracted. Today is day 3, and I failed. I just couldn’t take the headache anymore and the feeling completely empty, so I went and got food at 12:30pm.
I failed the overall goal of 3 days prayer and fasting, but I don’t necessarily feel that I failed at this particular goal. I did find some things out about myself, and about my prayer life and my relationship with God. I have a lot of weaknesses in my life, in my body and in my mind. I have made a home for the enemy within certain areas of my life, and that has become very apparent through this journey. I was more overcome with hunger than I thought I would be… I learned from this that I am addicted to food. I am a glutton. This is a fact. I was distracted ALL the time from the presence of God. That puzzled me… because on any other given day I have spent PLENTY of time in prayer, worship, listening to sermons etc. on my earbud at work; it’s never been a problem for me before. The headache I had all 3 days though just crossed the line for me. I couldn’t hardly concentrate on my work or anything at all. It was so fierce.

So… I would like to try another fast sometime – with the strict goal of getting closer to God and hearing His voice… but I think it has to be in a different circumstance and at a different time. I look forward to it though.